Are you interested in the field of safety? Do you want to make your first steps? If you do, you should aim for a Connecticut security guard license.
Luckily, we have prepared this guide for that purpose. So, learn the points below and start your career.
Every state imposes various eligibility prerequisites. They ensure competency and legality. Connecticut regulates all things on its own. In addition, it has established the hereunder conditions.
There are other requirements as well. They pertain to education, identity verification, and so on. Kentucky also has similar requirements.
Preparation is a priority for safety officers. It includes both physical and academic schooling. They all contribute to a person’s level of performance. Given that, one should choose a reliable course provider. The Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection is in control of that.
In general, it is an eight-hour class. It covers many subjects and topics. For example:
Future officers may anticipate detailed backdrop screening. In addition, you are to submit your fingerprints. After that, you will receive two cards (green and blue). Keep them as you are going to need them later.
Results show whether you have any past convictions or offenses. If you have, there might be some difficulties. For example, they may disqualify you. In reality, much depends on the nature of the felony. Equally important is the date of the crime. If it was ten years ago, you can still have a chance.
The service costs $50.00. There is also an FBI fee of $16.50.
As shown above, you cannot practice without legal authorization. That is why you should apply to the Department of Public Safety.
To start with, fill in the application form. Answer all the questions correctly. Secondly, include appropriate personal information. Then, attach necessary copies and the fee of $100. Once ready, send the application by mail.
Make sure you forward these papers:
Once you receive your certificate, you are to keep it up-to-date. It is valid for 5 years. The Department sends notices 30-45 days before it expires.
You can renew it through their online portal. Enter the passwords and login. Then, follow the instructions and conclude the process. As soon as you finish the transaction, print the receipt. It is for your records.
If you do not have an account, create one beforehand. Click on the “Register” button and repeat the steps.
Special Licensing and Firearms Unit
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
Phone: (860) 685-8046